In an industry where there are few breaks in the cyclical calendar to pause, acknowledge and celebrate, the annual Fashion Awards generates a welcome moment for reflection for everyone who is a part of this business we all throw ourselves into so intuitively; particularly, at a time when succeeding as a fashion is all the more difficult, dare I mention the economic crisis, Brexit and the serging cost of living.

The British Fashion Council has just announced the first batch of nominees for the 2023 Fashion Awards, and our excitement and anticipation for an evening often referred to as London’s equivalent of the Met Gala is building. Set to take place on Monday, December 4, 2023, at the iconic Royal Albert Hall the event is also the primary fundraiser for the BFC Foundation, which has supported the growth and development of young talent within the fashion industry for the past 40 years through grants, scholarships and bursaries.

The Fashion Awards 2023 serves as a global stage for celebrating the pivotal role of fashion at the intersection of culture and entertainment. The event will spotlight creative talent, through the lens of purpose, excellence, and creativity, shining its brightest light on the immense impact of British creative energy on the global fashion industry.

Chaired by our very own Editor in Chief, Caroline Issa, the award categories announced today include Model of the Year, British Menswear Designer of the Year, British Womenswear Designer of the Year, New Establishment Menswear, and New Establishment Womenswear. These categories recognise the individuals who have consistently pushed the boundaries of fashion and made an indelible mark on the industry.

Here are the nominees for The Fashion Awards 2023:

Model of the Year, Alton Mason, Anok Yai, Kai-Isaiah Jamal, Liu Wen, Mona Tougaard, Paloma Elsesser

British Menswear Designer of the Year
Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner, Kiko Kostadinov for Kiko Kostadinov, Kim Jones for Dior Men, Martine Rose for Martine Rose, Steven Stokey-Daley for S.S.DALEY

British Womenswear Designer of the Year
Erdem Moralıoğlu for Erdem, Maximilian Davis for Ferragamo, Nensi Dojaka for Nensi Dojaka, Roksanda Ilinčić for ROKSANDA, Simone Rocha for Simone Rocha

New Establishment Menswear
Bianca Saunders, Corteiz, LABRUM London, Nicholas Daley, Saul Nash

New Establishment Womenswear
Chopova Lowena, Dilara Fındıkoğlu, KNWLS, ROBERT WUN, Supriya Lele

For more information and updates about The Fashion Awards 2023, visit